Skip to content
Bromley Counts — Bromley, in numbers.Local help →

Bromley, in numbers

People and living standards

Bromley council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Bromley council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 293,491 in 1991 to 336,048 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Bromley council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 291,728 people in 1996; 336,048 people in 2025. 15.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Bromley council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991293,491
1992291,936
1993289,908
1994289,977
1995290,022
1996291,728
1997293,106
1998291,697
1999294,902
2000295,317
2001296,218
2002296,668
2003297,253
2004297,307
2005299,421
2006300,963
2007302,625
2008304,968
2009306,924
2010308,560
2011310,554
2012314,663
2013318,582
2014321,800
2015325,653
2016327,701
2017329,134
2018330,367
2019331,192
2020331,247
2021329,899
2022330,047
2023332,418
2024334,641
2025336,048
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Bromley council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 55,924 people in 1996; 64,024 people in 2025. 14.5% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Bromley council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199153,747
199254,062
199354,331
199454,977
199555,340
199655,924
199756,437
199856,710
199957,992
200058,479
200158,918
200258,817
200359,022
200458,972
200559,435
200659,412
200759,643
200859,931
200960,293
201060,459
201160,754
201261,793
201362,448
201463,232
201563,896
201664,888
201765,564
201866,200
201965,846
202065,576
202164,704
202264,503
202364,564
202464,399
202564,024
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Bromley council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 185,805 people in 1996; 210,658 people in 2025. 13.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Bromley council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991190,798
1992188,607
1993186,059
1994185,394
1995184,798
1996185,805
1997186,496
1998184,844
1999186,966
2000187,031
2001187,419
2002187,874
2003188,270
2004188,258
2005189,771
2006191,560
2007192,941
2008194,654
2009195,637
2010196,507
2011197,398
2012198,724
2013200,703
2014202,255
2015205,021
2016205,488
2017206,035
2018206,484
2019207,178
2020207,506
2021206,834
2022206,648
2023208,254
2024209,908
2025210,658
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Bromley council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 49,999 people in 1996; 61,366 people in 2025. 22.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Bromley council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199148,946
199249,267
199349,518
199449,606
199549,884
199649,999
199750,173
199850,143
199949,944
200049,807
200149,881
200249,977
200349,961
200450,077
200550,215
200649,991
200750,041
200850,383
200950,994
201051,594
201152,402
201254,146
201355,431
201456,313
201556,736
201657,325
201757,535
201857,683
201958,168
202058,165
202158,361
202258,896
202359,600
202460,334
202561,366
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 329,991 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Bromley · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh27,3078.3%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African25,1497.6%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups17,7405.4%
White252,29576.5%
Other ethnic group7,5002.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 309,392 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Bromley · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White260,87084.3%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups10,8973.5%
Asian/Asian British16,0675.2%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British18,6866%
Other ethnic group2,8720.9%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 295,532 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Bromley · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White270,66691.6%
Mixed5,5161.9%
Asian/Asian British7,5502.6%
Black/Black British8,6142.9%
Chinese/Other3,1861.1%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 32.4% above the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Bromley council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £13,366 per person in 1997; £34,389 per person in 2024. 157.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Bromley council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199713,366
199813,928
199914,624
200015,553
200116,133
200216,330
200317,266
200418,288
200519,101
200619,635
200720,729
200820,994
200920,643
201021,041
201121,336
201222,486
201323,291
201424,242
201525,825
201626,072
201726,239
201827,644
201927,997
202027,451
202128,765
202230,361
202332,105
202434,389
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Bromley council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 26% in 1997; 32.4% in 2024. 6.4 percentage points higher.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Bromley council area: full reviewed history
Period%
199726
199828.6
199929.3
200030.7
200130.4
200229.1
200332.5
200434.7
200535.9
200634.1
200735.1
200833.3
200928.9
201030.3
201130.9
201233.1
201333
201434.1
201535.8
201635.4
201733.2
201835.4
201932.9
202030.8
202131.7
202232.2
202331.3
202432.4
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

61.2%

21 March 2021 · Bromley council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

14.1%

21 March 2021 · Bromley council area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

13.8%

21 March 2021 · Bromley council area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

3.8%

21 March 2021 · Bromley council area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£512,000

July 2026 · Bromley council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£1,684

August 2026 · Bromley council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.